Sanja Ivekovic
Sweet Violence

Published in conjunction with the first solo museum exhibition of Sanja Iveković’s work in the United States, this is the most comprehensive survey on the artist available in English. A feminist, activist, and video pioneer, Iveković (born Zagreb, 1949) came of age in the early 1970s during the period known as the Croatian Spring, when artists broke free from mainstream institutional settings to lay the groundwork for critical and radical new forms of art. This volume presents an overview of the artist’s projects from the early 1970s to 2010 in all mediums, offering a fascinating view of gender roles, the official politics of power, and the paradoxes inherent in a society’s collective memory. Featured works include Iveković’s historic single-channel videos and media installations, photocollages, performances, and sculptural installations.

Publisher MoMA
Number of pages 192
  • €17.99
    Digital - English
  • €54.00
    Digital + Hardcover - English